About the e-guide


The ECCO e-Guide is an expanding collection of algorithms based on the ECCO guidelines. These algorithms were developed during 2013-2014 on behalf of ECCO (the European Crohn’s and Colitis Organisation) by Marcus Harbord, with assistance from Ailsa Hart, Siew Ng, and Makis Mantzaris; Y-ECCO members Tiago Nunes, Monica Cesarini, Joana Torres and Elisabeth Schnoy; and members of ECCO’s GuiCom and EduCom. In 2016 the algorithms were expanded to include all the published ECCO guidelines (or their current update).

The e-Guide is managed by the Guidelines Committee (GuiCom). The content is based on the most recent published ECCO guidelines and has been ratified by ECCO. The content will be updated in conjunction with publication of new ECCO statements and new guidelines and guideline updates. It will not be updated by the publication of ECCO topical reviews.

The e-Guide platform was developed by Sociable Data, who also provide ongoing support for the e-Guide via an educational grant of software license.

The images and videos in the resources section were provided by the e-Guide contributors; José Assunção Gonçalves, Sílvia Batalha; clinicians at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, UK, in particular Priya Narayanan, Nebil Behar, Mahmood Wahed and Paris Tekkis; Lyndon Da Cruz; and Chris Fraser.

Terms and conditions

By using this site you acknowledge that the content of this website is based on a review process of the ECCO Consensus Guidelines and primarily aims at facilitating their visualization.

Any treatment decisions are a matter for individual clinicians and may not be based primarily on the e-Guide content.

The European Crohn's and Colitis Organisation and/or any of its staff members and/or any website contributor may not be held liable for any information published in good faith on this website.

You agree that the use of this website is at your own risk and hereby waive any and all potential claims against European Crohn's and Colitis Organisation, and/or any of its staff members and/or any of the website contributors.

e-Guide Lead Development

Marcus Harbord
Consultant Physician and Gastroenterologist
Chelsea and Westminster Hospital
London, United Kingdom

e-Guide Champions

Gionata Fiorino
IBD Center, Humanitas Research Hospital
Gastroenterologist and Clinical Researcher
Rozzano, Milan, Italy
Kostas Katsanos
University and Medical School of Ioannina
Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Ioannina, Greece

e-Guide Taskforce

James Lindsay
Barts and the London NHS Trust
London, United Kingdom
Christian Maaser
Hospital Lüneburg
Department of Internal Medicine and Gastroenterology
Lüneburg, Germany
Andreas Sturm
DRK Kliniken Berlin | Westend
Department of Gastroenterology
Berlin, Germany
Stephan Vavricka
Triemli Hospital
Head of the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Zurich, Switzerland
Nuha Yassin
St Mark’s Hospital and Academic Institute
Harrow Department of Colorectal Surgery
Harrow, United Kingdom

e-Guide Contributors

Vito Annese
University Hospital Careggi
Department of Emergency, Division of Gastroenterology
Florence, Italy
Sandro Ardizzone
ASST Fatebenefratelli Sacco
Gastrointestinal Unit
Como, Italy
Franck Carbonnel
CHU Bicêtre, Assistance Publique-Hôpitaux de Paris
Department of Gastroenterology
Le Kremlin Bicêtre, France
Monica Cesarini
University of Rome Sapienza
Department of Gastroenterology and Internal Medicine
Rome, Italy
Rami Eliakim
Chaim Sheba Medical Center
Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Tel Hashomer, Israel
Paolo Gionchetti
DIMEC, University of Bologna
IBD Unit
Bologna, Italy
Hannah Gordon
Royal London Hospital
Department of Gastroenterology
London, United Kingdom
Ailsa Hart
St. Mark's Hospital
IBD Unit
Harrow, United Kingdom
Torsten Kucharzik
Hospital Lüneburg
Department of Internal Medicine and Gastroenterology
Lüneburg, Germany
Antonio López-Sanromán
Hospital Ramón Y Cajal
Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Los Santos De La Humosa, Spain
Fernando Magro
University of Porto
Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics
Gerassimos J. Mantzaris
Evangelismos Hospital
Dept. of Gastroenterology
Athens, Greece
Siew Ng
Prince of Wales Hospital
Hong Kong, China
Tiago Nunes
Nestec S.A
Lausanne, Switzerland
Elisabeth Schnoy
University Hospital Regensburg
Department of Internal Medicine I
Regensburg, Germany
Joana Torres
Hospital Beatriz Ângelo
Department of Gastroenterology
Loures, Portugal
Dan Turner
Shaare Zedek Medical Center
Department of Paediatric Gastroenterology
Jerusalem, Israel